Elul 10: Count

I’m tired of keeping track,
but I just can’t kick
this habit of
needing to know if I
have won
or lost.

I did better than them.
I was faster than her.
At least I didn’t do what
he did.

What am I getting with all
of these points?
Do I cash them in
for pride or success,
or a little plastic paratrooper
that gets tangled in its own strings
and falls flat on the ground?

 

This poem is in a series written during Elul, the Jewish month of reflection and repentance leading up to the Jewish New Year and Day of Atonement. The project is inspired by Rabbi Phyllis Anna Somer, @imabima. More info on her blog Ima on (and off) the Bima.

~ by ettaqueen on September 15, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
