The World Where I Live

In the world where I live
Some children learn.
Others learn how to survive.

A mouth asks “Why are you walking in the street?”
Feet stroll around a neighborhood
Eyes falling on a hoodie
A finger wraps around a trigger
Or an arm around a neck
In panic or hatred or something else entirely.

The stories break
Along with my heart
And still I stare
In disbelief at the state of things.
I wonder at our blindness
To this blatant, ugly truth.

When did I learn
That some lives matter more?
Who taught me
To be afraid of my brothers?
How many times
Must I be called
Before I will rise
Uncomfortable and powerful
In my skin
To stand for what is
Right?

~ by ettaqueen on December 3, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
