For Small Miracles

I shake my head
At the unexpected beauty
Of billion water molecules
Suspended in the atmosphere.

Even after a night
As terrible as this,
The world seems just the same
As when I went to sleep.

The sun still rises.
The dew still seeps through my canvas shoes
And wets my toes,
Making me shiver in the autumn wind.
I still struggle to catch my breath
As I trudge and slip up the hill
On my morning walk.

I can smell the frost melting from the red and yellow leaves and
My muscles shiver to shake the cold
That is pulling down the corners of my mouth.
My brow is knit like a Christmas sweater,
Which does nothing to keep me warm.

Then
This tiny hand
Weaves its wobbly fingers through my own
And passing its heat from palm to palm,
Pushes a smile
Out of my worried heart.

~ by ettaqueen on December 29, 2010.

7 Responses to “For Small Miracles”

  1. I really like this line “My brow is knit like a Christmas sweater.”

    Thanks!

  2. brilliant write..best wishes for 2011..

    You are under fresh poets to explore,
    I invite you to become a participant at Thursday Poets Rally Week 36…link in your entry when you are ready.
    That’s a better way to make poetic friends, and have your talent directly exposed to fellow poets.
    Poetry awards are to be given upon completion.

    Hope to see you in, Happy Thursday, best wishes for the year of 2011.

    xoxox

  3. Refreshing images quietly symbolising the status of the soul!

  4. One small hand makes everything seem fresh again and all is right with the world. Great imagery.

  5. This is a lovely piece, and it’s very stirring

  6. That is so descriptive and enthralling. You are such a beautiful writer.

  7. Glad to see this poem here. I enjoyed it when you share at the meeting…

Leave a Reply

 
